South America

South America

South America, the planet's 4th largest continent, includes 12 independent countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela) and 3 major territories: the Falkland Islands, Galapagos Islands and French Guiana. It is the southern portion of the landmass generally referred to as the New World, the Western Hemisphere. It is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean; North America and the Caribbean Sea lie to the northwest. South America has an area of 17,840,000 square kilometers (6,890,000 sq mi). Most of the population lives near the continent's western or eastern coasts while the interior and the far south are sparsely populated. The geography of western South America is dominated by the Andes mountains; in contrast, the eastern part contains both highland regions and large lowlands where rivers such as the Amazon, Orinoco, and Paraná flow. Most of the continent lies in the tropics. The continent's cultural and ethnic outlook has its origin with the interaction of indigenous peoples with European conquerors and immigrants and, more locally, with African slaves.

South America

South America Sub Places

Nearby Places



Mountain Ranges



Capital Cities