Northwestern Europe

Northwestern Europe

Northwestern Europe is a geographical region in European Continent, overlapping northern and western Europe.

Geographically, Northwestern Europe consists of Ireland, the United Kingdom, Belgium, the Netherlands, Northern Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Iceland. Luxembourg, Northern France, Southern Germany, and Switzerland are also often considered part of the region.

Northwestern Europe also includes Channel Islands of Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey & Sark which are British territories.

The region also includes islands such as Svalbard & Jan Mayen though they are geographically part of the Artic region.

Ethnographically Germanic languages are widely spoken in most of Northwestern Europe, although other languages are also present, including Romance languages in Northern France, Wallonia and Luxembourg, and Celtic languages along the western fringes of the British Isles and in Brittany. The region also has a history of Protestantism that differentiates it from its Mediterranean / Southern European / Latin and Eastern European / Slavic neighbors.

Northwestern Europe has a mild, generally humid climate, influenced by the North Atlantic Drift.

Northwestern Europe Sub Places

Nearby Places




Mountain Ranges


Capital Cities