Kirinyaga County

Kirinyaga County, Central Kenya, Republic of Kenya, East Africa

Kirinyaga County is a county in Central Kenya, East Africa

Capital: Kerugoya


Kirinyaga County is one of the 47 counties in Kenya created after the 2010 constitution.

As an administrative county Kirinyaga County is headed by a governor (who's elected every 5 years via universal suffrage) assisted by sub-county administrators (who are appointed by the governor). The national government is represented by a county commissioner assisted by sub-county commissioners (who are appointed by Kenya cabinet secretary for interior).

Kirinyaga County is divided into constituencies (which is most cases also doubles up as sub-counties for administrative purposes), which are divided into wards and/or locations. Each ward/location is made up of one or sub-locations.

Kirinyaga County Sub Places

Nearby Places






Electoral Constituencies




Market Towns